Throughout this blog, I have updated you on my prostate cancer treatments. My cancer has been labeled T2A. My last biopsy revealed a Gleason score of 3+4. At the risk of getting too technical (and I like to keep things simple), my cancer is not the most aggressive. It’s also not the least harmful. It’s somewhere in the middle — roughly.

I am happy I caught the cancer in its earlier stages. After a period of active surveillance, my PSA went up to over 8. It was time for treatment. I chose radiation. As I described in an earlier post, my treatment took weeks, but went very well. Several days ago, I had my first post-treatment PSA reading. It was 1.5, exactly where my radiology oncologist wanted it. That pleased me because when my doctor worries, I worry.

I will wait another six months for another PSA. If it stays the same, I will continue with six-month checks.  If the PSA were to go up, I would be checked every four months. There’s always the chance my PSA can go up.  Cancer has a way of doing whatever it wants to do. So I will have to go through these blood tests for the rest of my life.

The point is to be sure to ask your doctor for a prostate cancer screening. There’s a tiny bit of discomfort throughout the process, especially if you reach the biopsy stage. There’s also a fair amount of anxiety involved, especially waiting for results.  I wish I could say that this isn’t the case, but remember that the effort is well worth it.

Spend some time on my blog researching the disease….then get on the telephone and start a dialogue with your doctor.

