It’s about time I write a post about chocolate. You read that chocolate is good for this or chocolate is good for that. Dark chocolate is even better, so they say. Hmmm. I’m going to admit that I’m not that nutty about sweets. As a kid, I rarely had dessert after dinner. And I didn’t miss it. If I go to a wedding reception, I skip the table with chocolate treats and go for the chips, dips, cheeses and sliced deli meats. 

That’s not to say I don’t enjoy a candy bar now and then.  I just don’t crave chocolate. How valid are the claims that chocolate is good for your health? Before you start boosting your cocoa intake, consider this piece from Elena Conis  in the Los Angeles Times.

Perhaps a little chocolate is good for your health. You’ll have to decide, based on the available evidence. For now, it seems fitness centers and dentist offices stand to benefit the most from chocolate consumption.

