The flexible sig is a funny sounding medical term. It’s actually short for flexible sigmoidoscopy. It may sound goofy, but it’s one of the tools that can identify colorectal cancer. In a way, this is a complex subject to write about. As I search through health articles to prep for this blog, I am constantly reminded that colonoscopies are the “gold standard” in finding potentially cancerous polyps or full-blown colorectal cancers.

Now comes research that indicates that a flexible sig for boomers between 55 and 64 years of age could reduce the chance of getting colon cancer. The key point to remember is that a flexible sig only probes the lower colon and rectum, a region where two thirds of cancers occur. The more involved colonoscopy explores the entire colon.

I have heard that flexible sigmoidoscopies are not as common these days. And you can add to the mix  the “virtual” colonoscopy. Some people choose this method, which relies more on computer images. I’m not a doctor, but my vote goes to the colonoscopy. That’s the option I chose shortly after turning 50.

The decision is yours. Poke around my blog and learn more about colorectal cancer. Do further research, and make sure you have a have a chat with your doctor.

