Since 2010 has arrived, I thought I would spend the first couple of weeks of January blogging about New Year’s resolutions. Mine are simple. I need to lose some “holiday” pounds. I need to keep focused on the weight room; I do upper-body exercises every other day. I need to continue my daily half-hour (brisk) walks and eat broccoli and fruit several times a week. More on the health benefits of broccoli in a future post.  

What are your goals? If you’re stumped, or don’t feel particularly inspired, consider the following piece in the New York Times. Television health guru Dr. Mehmet Oz, host of “The Dr. Oz  Show,” has great ideas that are quite simple to follow. These include hitting the sack earlier and keeping protein and fiber-rich nuts close by…..just in case you get a snack attack:

http://well.blogs.nytimes.com/2009/12/29/realistic-resolutions-from-dr-oz/

In the next few weeks, I’ll blog about the “Everybody Smokes When Anybody Smokes” awareness campaign in Wisconsin. I’ll also link you to some healthy- eating thoughts from a corporate chef. Now is a great time to start making New Year’s resolutions. What are some of yours?  Please share them with my blog readers by commenting on this post or dropping me an e-mail at scottguythingblog@gmail.com. Happy New Year!

The Dr. Oz Show: http://www.doctoroz.com/

