Nothing smells better than a bubbling pot of coffee. It’s a great aroma. What’s odd is that I don’t like the taste of coffee. It’s too bitter. I just don’t tolerate it. Sure, I could add a bunch of cream and sugar. But wouldn’t that be similar to a high-calorie hot chocolate?

For those who love their cup of joe, research is showing coffee may have health benefits. There is evidence that coffee drinkers may have a reduced risk of liver disease and Type 2 diabetes. Of particular interest to baby boomers, coffee may help lower the chance of getting aggressive prostate cancer. Washington Post writer Carolyn Butler describes her love affair with the caffeine-loaded breakfast, lunch and dinner beverage:

http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2009/12/18/AR2009121803624_pf.html

For some, coffee may not be a good idea. It’s good to check with your doctor if you have any health concerns regarding coffee consumption. Even though I don’t drink coffee, I admit I’m hooked on caffeine. My caffeine comes from diet soda. And that’s clearly a habit I need to break….with a little luck and a lot of willpower.

