On this blog, I have written about my prostate cancer, which was diagnosed last September. This is news that can deliver a body blow to the most strong-willed, vigorous man. While each man reacts differently, support is available to those who need to share with others.

I admit I’m a private guy. My family has done an outstanding job supporting me since the diagnosis.  But I tend to avoid the subject outside of family settings.  Others  may need to share with whomever will listen. Thank goodness we are all different. There is no single, proper way to process the news that you have a potentially fatal disease.

Blogging is a great way for me to share. It’s also a splendid motivational tool to keep me healthy. I have to practice what I preach on these blog pages!

Both New York Times writer Dana Jennings and his wife, Deborah, have been blogging about his agressive form of the disease. Prostate cancer can affect a married couple;  treatments or surgery can produce troubling side effects. Visit  Tara Parker-Pope’s “A Wife’s View of Prostate Cancer” at: http://well.blogs.nytimes.com/2009/06/16/a-wifes-view-of-prostate-cancer/.

For a wealth of information, visit the Prostate Cancer Foundation at www.prostatecancerfoundation.org.  You’ll find tools to help you connect with others.

